top of page

An Open Door


Everyone has heard the saying, "When God closes a door, He always opens a new one" and I feel like in my short life, God really has not closed many doors. But about 4 weeks ago God slammed a door right in my face. After studying abroad in Austria during Fall 2013, there was nothing I wanted to do more than to go back to this beautiful place. The new graduate program that Salzburg College just started was my dream solution for doing just that! So after praying and convincing my parents that I needed to go, I signed up. For about 5 months, I thought I was going to Austria for a year. Well about 4 weeks ago, I got an email telling me that the program was canceled due to lack of participation. Obviously, I was devistated. It was the middle of July, I was a college graduate, and what little concrete post grad plans I did have had flown out the window. Most programs that I had thought hard about and could qualify for had already closed their applications. I was freaking out a little and very VERY concered about where my life was going. Looking back now, I know that God had his hand in all of it because about two nights after I received the email about my canceled program I was getting another email from a different program! I have known about Tees Valley Youth for Christ (TVYFC) for about 3-4 years. The president of TVYFC is Mike Taylor and he happened to be on my Student Leadership University 301 BUS! Yes, BUS, God works in the coolest ways. He was originally from the NWA and he recognized my mom as a Tollett so that got us connected! Right before our SLU 301 trip, Mr. Taylor had taken a group of SLU students on a mission trip to the North East part of England, in the Tees Valley. This was the first time I had every heard of the mission oppurtuity in England! A couple years later, my mom was able to get Mike Taylor to come speak at my brother's home group about a new program that was being started in the Tees Valley. It was an opportunity for highschool/college graduates to take a "gap year" in England. While I did not hear Mr. Taylor speak myself, my mom sent me a link to the website and that is when I learned about the Gap Year Program. So when I found out that I had no plans for Fall 2015- Spring 2016 the gap year program with TVYFC was one of the first things I looked at. However, the application deadline was June 1 and it was Mid-July. With nothing to lose, I decided to email TVYFC and see if they would let me send in a late application. I sent the email at 12 am (Central Time) and they got back to me in less than 12 hours and told me that if I got in all my paperwork that night they would consider my application. I did, they did, and I was accepted! So.... I AM GOING TO ENGLAND.

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, declares the LORD

-Isaiah 55:8

England has always been on my heart and I have wanted to live there ever since I was little. I am so thankful that I am finally going to be able to do that. Even though this was not what I planned- and I honestly wish that God would of given me a heads up a little sooner- I am so excited and ready to serve the Lord in the Tees Side Valley!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page